Empty Nesting Again

Got a bunch of mixed emotions going on this week

I dropped my son off at the airport on Sunday something I’ve not done since early 08 when he was still in the Navy

I tried to have a happy face & laugh but inside was a mixture of motherly emotions

We joked a bit as we got his stuff ready for the “working vacation” off to Louisiana to look for a seamans job

The joy in knowing that if he wasn’t able to find a job he had one fulltime he already was working at & 1 seasonal possible to fulltime permanent at the post office to come back to at the end of the week

He was excited & I was nervously excited for him as well but angry because he should have been able to get a shipping job here in CT but our democratically run state has driven out all of the good jobs

Today my son texted that he’s passed the physical & that he’s scheduled to start orientation on Monday

He has a minor hiccup that they are working on that he didn’t know about in his certification but the company is working on getting that fixed

I’m happy for him I knew it wouldn’t be a problem getting the job if there were openings he is a good worker & missed being on the water

but I am angry that our Employment Offices aren’t set up to assist our veterans in getting their certifications etc so that it’s easier to transition into civilian life? I thought that there were supposed to be a veterans helper that helps our veterans take the skills that they had in the military & translate them into employment english so that the HR departments would know what the veterans were doing & that also help our veterans that want to do similar work in the civilian world get the certifications etc that are necessary

I’m sorry to be venting but I am angry that my son has to go 1/2 way across the country to get a job when CT is on the shore with several Port towns & NYC is not far away is also a port city but the tax & spend democrats have chased away all of the shipping companies & factories & companies that might have hired our children

I am excited at his news – like I said a big mixture of emotions going on

He’s not yet found out which type of ship he’ll be placed on

The company is International so I’m wondering if he’ll be Way Out to Sea or more stateside waters in the gulf of mexico ports in & around the Mississippi

I went into his room today & had a little cry because I’ll miss having someone to chit chat with during the day

Working Retail there were many days he had off that Hubby was working & we’d chit chat & he helped out around the house when I couldn’t reach something or lift heavy items

On occasion we’d just “Hangout” & he’d treat me to lunch or sometimes a movie,

He made certain that I got to go shooting for my very first time when he overheard me talking about the fact that I wanted to know what the different types of guns felt like weightwise prior to buying anything due to my arm not being able to handle heavy weights for longguns & I was nervous about the kickback on sidearm choices but I knew I wanted to get my permit & licenses & larn how to hunt

My son is a good son that I am both proud of & enjoy hanging out with

We’ve had some very heated debates that can last for hours covering all sorts of topics in one night while sitting in the yard, or walking the dog or in our lower level so we don’t wake Hubby. We enjoyed those life discussions even though sometimes we’d frustrate each other at different times about different topics

Only a mother whose last child has left the nest can understand the mixture of emotions that I’m talking about

I’m sure that husbands go through something similar but it’s not the same
(I did catch Hubby standing in the middle of the room Sunday when I got back from the airport)
We both miss our son in our own way
But mothers know it’s different because we’ve given life to these grown people
Wiped tears, taught their first words & sang them songs, nursed at our breasts
& that’s just something that is different from a mother’s love
I’m not saying better, just a different kind of love & bond

Son & I prior to airport drive

Love my Son trying to make me laugh

Leave a Reply

