Bible in the News? Rumors of Wars – Crimea Syria Russia and USA

Friday was Good Friday & Sunday is Palm Sunday that just passed;
Today is Passover celebrated by the Jewish people
Easter Sunday is this week if you are a Christian

As Easter approaches I’m thinking about both the bible & recent events in the news
The past few months when you look at the news & then think back to what you heard or read about in the bible it does bring up some questions & thoughts

Well our headline news stories make those prophecy verses seem a much more real & applicable to our time

Syria is mentioned in the bible & is having war inside for power

Russia is moving it’s troops around while Crimea is trying to get out of the Ukraine & reattached back to Russia

The USA is being asked by many to join in on these fights outside of our country

Meanwhile the major USA media is not bothering to report in full about the war on it’s citizens

I look around & wonder…
At what point do Christian churches as a whole start talking about the prophecies in the bible?
Start telling their congregations to get their lives & homes in proper order because the times are clearly as the bible said that they would be…

Too many megachurches talk about feel good messages of prosperity that have at best only the barest of bible truths but neglect the majority of what the bible has to say about morality & godly living

Many people do not even own a bible in this day & age as more people chose to be atheists for one reason or another & more saddening are the churches which do not have bibles in them nor do their own congregations bring in bibles from home so they do not even know what the bible actually has to say. They do not read the bible to see if the preacher is actually quoting from the bible in context

I believe that everyone has the right to chose to be whatever they want, it’s their life & soul & so long as they are alive they get to chose who they will follow so I do not try to force anyone to be a Christian.

I also understand that not everyone who is an atheist today will be one tomorrow or maybe next year.
There are also many people who profess to be Christians but in reality they are as much a Christian as I am bird able to fly…
I can call myself a bird all I want but since I have neither feathers nor wings, I am not a bird no matter how much I might hang out at the aviary.

I mention those 2 groups because it makes me sad that for many in the first group they chose to be non-believers because they were hurt by people calling themselves Christians but in fact are not by their actions & attitudes

I hope & pray that in time both groups get to know the Lord on a personal level
I pray for peace but know that the bible tells us what is about to come
So my prayers are that people who I meet & friends & family come to know the saving grace

Leave a Reply

